reviewkings

Hardware news · Hardware

ASUS ROG XG Station 3 combines Thunderbolt 5 with BTF

Redactie · November 4, 2026

ASUS logo

ASUS has announced the ROG XG Station 3, an external graphics card dock with Thunderbolt 5. It lets you install a desktop graphics card and connect it to a compatible laptop. The open dock also supports ASUS BTF cards without a visible PCIe power cable, combining graphics expansion with charging and additional USB ports. Pricing and a firm release date have yet to be announced.

Thunderbolt 5 for video, data and power

According to ASUS, the connection to your laptop offers up to 80 Gbit/s of bidirectional bandwidth. With Thunderbolt 5 Bandwidth Boost, this can rise to 120 Gbit/s for demanding video traffic. That higher figure therefore does not necessarily represent the bandwidth available for all communication with the graphics card.

The dock also delivers up to 140 watts of USB Power Delivery over the same connection. With a laptop that supports this and stays within that power budget, you can charge it and use the external graphics card through a single cable. ASUS has not shared any benchmarks, so the gaming performance you can expect remains unclear.

  • Laptop connection: Thunderbolt 5 with up to 140 watts of USB Power Delivery.
  • Additional Thunderbolt 5 port: supports up to three 4K displays via daisy chaining and up to 36 watts of power delivery.
  • Front USB ports: two 10 Gbit/s USB-C ports.
  • BTF support: GC-HPWR slot for BTF 2.5 graphics cards.
  • Lighting: RGB with Aura Sync support.

Open design with room for BTF cards

The XG Station 3 does not enclose the graphics card in a closed chassis. The card remains visible and has unrestricted access to ambient air. With a conventional graphics card, the PCIe power cable also remains in view.

For BTF 2.5 cards, ASUS has built in a GC-HPWR slot that allows the card to receive power without that visible cable. ASUS cites the TUF Gaming GeForce RTX 5080 BTF OC Edition and ROG Astral GeForce RTX 5090 BTF Edition as examples. The dock also features polished metal surfaces and lighting that you can synchronize with other Aura Sync devices.

ASUS lists support for graphics cards from the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 50, RTX PRO 6000, AMD Radeon RX 9000 and Intel Arc series. The announcement does not specify maximum card dimensions or the power available to the graphics card.

Also designed to serve as a desktop hub

You can connect monitors to the display outputs on the installed graphics card. The additional Thunderbolt 5 port also supports up to three daisy-chained 4K displays. ASUS does not specify refresh rates. The two front USB-C ports can be used for peripherals and external storage, for example.

What does this mean for you?

If you use a laptop on the go and want more graphics power at home, this is an interesting upgrade option. It keeps the graphics card separate from your laptop, allowing you to replace it independently. For PC builders, BTF support is the standout feature, although its main benefit is a cleaner look.

Whether the XG Station 3 will also be a sensible purchase depends on its price, compatibility and measured gaming performance. Without those details, it is difficult to make a meaningful comparison with a separate gaming PC. Also check whether your laptop supports the required connection and charging capabilities; having a USB-C port alone is not enough.

Source: ASUS Pressroom